1. Home
  2. News
  3. Thunder Announces 2017-18 Season-Ending Roster

Thunder Announces 2017-18 Season-Ending Roster

Monday, February 1st
Thunder Announces 2017-18 Season-Ending Roster

Wichita, KS (June 15th) - The Wichita Thunder, ECHL affiliate of the NHL's Edmonton Oilers, AHL's Bakersfield Condors and powered by Toyota, revealed their 2017-18 season-ending roster on Friday. The Thunder's 20-man roster consisted of 14 forwards and six defensemen. Friday is the official end of the 2017-18 season, with teams being permitted to sign players to 2018-19 contracts starting on Saturday, June 16th.

2017-18 Season-Ending Roster

Forwards (14): Ryan Van Stralen, Mitch Maloney, Ralph Cuddemi, Steven Iacobellis, Mark MacMillan, Lane Bauer, Dyson Stevenson, Travis Ewanyk, Cam Reid, Grayson Pawlenchuk, Nick Latta, Daniel Leavens, Guillaume Asselin and Matt DeBlouw.

Defenseman (6): Guillaume Lepine, Marc-Olivier Crevier-Morin, Samuel Thibault, Jeremy Beaudry, Kevin Patterson and Travis Brown.

Season-Ending Rosters may include up to 20 players. Season-Ending Rosters cannot include any players who didn't sign an ECHL contract in 2017-18.

Each team is entitled to reserve rights to a maximum of eight players from the list of 20 by extending a qualifying offer no later than June 30. Of the eight qualified players, no more than four can be veterans (260 regular season professional hockey games played as of the start of the 2018-19 Season). Players on open qualifying offers cannot be traded. Teams are not required to extend a qualifying offer to players who sign a contract prior to July 1.

The qualifying offer must remain open for acceptance until Aug. 1 at which time the qualifying offer becomes null and void and the team may sign the qualified player to any salary or may elect to take no further action. Teams that extend a valid qualifying offer to a non-veteran player shall retain the rights to that qualified player for one playing season.

A team that extends a valid qualifying offer to a veteran player, or to a goaltender who has played more than 180 regular-season games, will retain the rights to that player until Aug. 1. After Aug. 1, if the veteran player or goaltender is not signed to a contract by the team, the veteran or goaltender shall be deemed a restricted free agent and shall be entitled to seek and secure offers of employment from other ECHL teams. Restricted free agents may not be traded. When a restricted free agent receives a contract offer from a team other than the team with the player's rights and the restricted free agent wishes to accept the contract offer, the restricted free agent and the offering member must, within 24 hours, notify the ECHL, the team with the player's rights and the Professional Hockey Players' Association. The member with the player's rights shall have seven days after the date it is notified to exercise its right to match the contract offer.

If a restricted free agent is not signed to either an offer sheet or a contract by an ECHL team by Aug. 31, the player shall be deemed an unrestricted free agent.

Season tickets for the 2018-19 campaign are on sale now. Get your seats for just $15 per month. All it takes is a $1 down per seat to reserve yours today. To learn more, click here or contact a Thunder representative at the office today!

Name your price for season tickets or suites during the month of June. Click here to submit your entry on what you would pay for season tickets and a Thunder representative will get you taken care of!

Follow along with us on our social media platforms on Facebook, Twitter (@wichita_thunder), Snapchat (wichthunder), Instagram (Wichita_Thunder) and LinkedIn.