1. Home
  2. Team History

Team History



The Wichita Thunder is entering its 32nd season as a franchise and ninth season as a member of the ECHL, the premier ‘AA’ hockey league. The ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and two Canadian provinces for its 36th season in 2023-24. There have been over 700 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after beginning their careers in the ECHL.

In the Thunder’s 30-year history, we have entertained over five million fans, including 20 sellout crowds in franchise history and have averaged over 5,000 fans per night during the first 30 years in Wichita.

Wichita has won two league titles that dates back to the team's Central Hockey League's days. The Thunder won back-to-back President's Cup Trophies in 1993-94 and 1994-95.