1. Home
  2. News
  3. Thunder Announce Protected List

Thunder Announce Protected List

Monday, February 1st
Thunder Announce Protected List

Wichita, KS (June 2nd) - The Wichita Thunder, proud member of the ECHL and powered by Toyota, announced the team's protected list today, which includes 16 forwards, seven defensemen and three goaltenders.

Protected Forwards (16): Christian Isackson, Miles Koules, Andy Huff, Ian Lowe, Michael Neal, Kale Kerbashian, Paxton Leroux, Logan Nelson, Erick Lizon, Kenton Miller, Domenic Alberga, Dean Chelios, RG Flath, Peter Sakaris, Stephen Schultz and Jared Walker.

Protected Defensemen (7): Donnie Harris, Landon Oslanski, Dan Milan, Dalton Reum, Martin Nemcik, Eric Springer and Theo Peckham.

Protected Goaltender (3): Sean Bonar, David Shantz and Grant Rollheiser.

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players' Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2015-16 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2015-16, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2015-16 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13th and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15th. Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2015-16.

The Wichita Thunder kick off their 25th Anniversary season on Saturday, October 15th against the Tulsa Oilers. Season tickets are on sale now. Put down your $50 deposit per seat and pay it off all summer long. Contact a Thunder representative at the office today.

Follow along with us on our social media platforms on Facebook, Twitter (@wichita_thunder), Snapchat (wichthunder), Instagram (Wichita_Thunder) and LinkedIn, presented by Wichita Brewing Company.

About the ECHLThe ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and one Canadian province for its 29th season in 2016-17. There have been over 500 players who have started their career in the ECHL have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 29 who made their NHL debuts in the 2013-14 season. The ECHL had affiliations with 26 of the 30 NHL teams in 2013-14, marking the 17th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at ECHL.com, as well as on Twitter and Facebook.