1. Home
  2. News
  3. Wichita Force Hockey Team Chosen for Special TV Series

Wichita Force Hockey Team Chosen for Special TV Series

Monday, February 1st
Wichita Force Hockey Team Chosen for Special TV Series

Wichita, KS (April 12th) - The Wichita Thunder, proud member of the ECHL and powered by Toyota, are excited to announce that the Wichita Force Ice Hockey Team has been selected by the International Olympic Committee to participate in a special eight-part series that will be launched after the Rio Games. The Wichita Force, comprised of a group of local members of the Wichita Police Department, will go through five practice sessions starting on April 19th at the Wichita Ice Center and will conclude on April 23rd. The culmination of the practice sessions will set up a rematch of our annual Police vs. Fire game on Sunday, April 24th at 10 a.m..

One special piece to this puzzle will be coaching for the squad. A former member of the US Olympic Hockey Team will be present to provide personal instruction for the Wichita Force. The hope of this series is to empower and motivate both teams and potentially their communities. It will also explore the importance of hockey in each team member's life by spending time with them in their daily lives, interacting with friends, family, colleagues at home, college or work.

Admission to the rematch will be free, with any donations being accepted to help benefit the Wichita Children's Home. Wichita Youth Hockey will also be a part of the festivities as there will be exhibition games during intermissions.

Season ticket holders can now renew their seats for the upcoming 2016-17 season. Put down your $50 deposit per seat and pay it off all summer long. Contact a Thunder representative at the office today.

Follow along with us on our social media platforms on Facebook, Twitter (@wichita_thunder), Snapchat (wichthunder), Instagram (Wichita_Thunder) and LinkedIn, presented by Wichita Brewing Company.

About the ECHLThe ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and one Canadian province for its 27th season in 2014-15. There have been over 500 players who have started their career in the ECHL have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 29 who made their NHL debuts in the 2013-14 season. The ECHL had affiliations with 26 of the 30 NHL teams in 2013-14, marking the 17th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at ECHL.com, as well as on Twitter and Facebook.