1. Home
  2. News
  3. ECHL Announces 2015-16 Alignment and Playoff Format

ECHL Announces 2015-16 Alignment and Playoff Format

Monday, February 1st
ECHL Announces 2015-16 Alignment and Playoff Format

Princeton, NJ (February 3rd) - The ECHL announced on Tuesday the Divisional alignment for the 2015-16 season, as well as the format for the 2016 Kelly Cup Playoffs, following the announcement last week of the League Membership. As approved by the Board of Governors, the Conference and Divisional alignment for the 2015-16 Season will be as follows:

Eastern Conference

North DivisionBrampton Beast, Kalamazoo Wings, Toledo Walleye, Wheeling Nailers

East DivisionAdirondack, Elmira Jackals, Manchester, Norfolk, Reading Royals

South DivisionFlorida Everblades, Greenville Road Warriors, Gwinnett Gladiators, Orlando Solar Bears, South Carolina Stingrays

Western Conference

Midwest DivisionCincinnati Cyclones, Evansville IceMen, Fort Wayne Komets, Indy Fuel, Quad City Mallards

Central DivisionAllen Americans, Missouri Mavericks, Tulsa Oilers, Wichita Thunder

West DivisionAlaska Aces, Colorado Eagles, Idaho Steelheads, Rapid City Rush, Utah Grizzlies Wichita will remain in a division with rivals Allen, Missouri and Tulsa. Quad City will move to the Midwest Division while Rapid City heads to the West. The Brampton Beast switch to the Eastern Conference and will be paired in a four-team division with Kalamazoo, Toledo and Wheeling.

The division winners will be seeded 1, 2 and 3 and the next five highest point totals in each conference will qualify for the 2016 Kelly Cup Playoffs. All series in the playoffs will be played in a best-of-seven format with the conference champions meeting in the Kelly Cup Finals to determine a national champion.

Wichita travels to Quad City for two games starting on Friday night at the i-Wireless Center at 7:05 p.m.

Individual tickets are on sale now. Don't delay! Tickets can be purchased at the INTRUST Arena Box office, by calling 755-SEAT or go online at www.selectaseat.com. Stay up-to-date on all the news during the season by visiting www.wichitathunder.com. About the ECHL

The ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and one Canadian province for its 27th season in 2014-15. There have been 541 players who have started their career in the ECHL have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 29 who made their NHL debuts in the 2013-14 season. The ECHL had affiliations with 26 of the 30 NHL teams in 2013-14, marking the 17th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at ECHL.com, as well as on Twitter and Facebook.