1. Home
  2. News
  3. Back-to-Back Championship Teams Honored This Saturday

Back-to-Back Championship Teams Honored This Saturday

Monday, February 1st
Back-to-Back Championship Teams Honored This Saturday

Wichita, KS (April 16th) - The Wichita Sports Hall of Fame and Museum announced their 2015 Class of Inductees back in February and the team category went to the 1993-94 and 1994-95 Wichita Thunder back-to-back championship winning teams. In just their second and third year of the franchise, Wichita won Central Hockey League titles in consecutive seasons. The induction ceremony will take place this Saturday at Hillside Christian Church beginning at 2 p.m.

Led by Doug Shedden, the Thunder won two-straight titles and were dominant on at the Kansas Coliseum. Between 1993-95, Wichita went 50-10-9 and took first place during the regular season. In 1993-94, the Thunder beat Dallas four games-to-three during the semi-finals and swept the Tulsa Oilers four games-to-none for their first championship. The following year was much of the same, going 44-18-4 during the regular season and taking the crown with a semi-final win over the Oklahoma City Blazers followed by a four games-to-two victory over San Antonio in the Finals.

The media and past members elected seven of the 2015 inductees while the advisory committee elected the other three plus the team category. For more information on the Wichita Sports Hall of Fame, visit them online at www.wichitahof.com. There is no cost to attend, but fans must make reservations in advance by calling 316-264-5222.

Representing the teams will be Tom Roulston and Bobby Desjardins. Roulson, who played in the NHL and was traded for current Thunder Head Coach Kevin McClelland, played 69 games for the Wichita Wind during the 1980-81 season and finished his career in Wichita as a member of the 1994-95 championship team. Desjardins was named Rookie of the Year in 1992-93 and then won the league MVP in 1993-94.

Season tickets are on sale now. Don't delay! Call the Wichita Thunder office and visit with a season ticket rep today to learn more. Stay up-to-date on all the news during the off-season by visiting www.wichitathunder.com. About the ECHL

The ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and one Canadian province for its 27th season in 2014-15. There have been 541 players who have started their career in the ECHL have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 29 who made their NHL debuts in the 2013-14 season. The ECHL had affiliations with 26 of the 30 NHL teams in 2013-14, marking the 17th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at ECHL.com, as well as on Twitter and Facebook.