1. Home
  2. News
  3. Thunder Announces Protected Player List

Thunder Announces Protected Player List

Monday, February 1st
Thunder Announces Protected Player List

Wichita, KS (June 1st) - The Wichita Thunder, ECHL affiliate of the NHL's Edmonton Oilers, AHL's Bakersfield Condors and powered by Toyota, announced today its protected player list.

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players' Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2017-18 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2017-18, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2017-18 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

Below is the Wichita Thunder protected list:

Defense (9)Jeremy BeaudryEtienne BoutetTravis BrownMarc-Olivier Crevier-MorinSamuel LabrecqueGuillaume LepineAlex Miner-BarronKevin PattersonSamuel Thibault

Forwards (21)Guillaume AsselinLane BauerMatthew BrownRalph CuddemiTyler CurrierMatt DeblouwKevin DufourTravis EwanykGerrad GrantSteven IacobellisNick LattaAlexis LoiseauBrayden LowMark MacMillanMitch MaloneyGrayson PawlenchukCam ReidJack RodewaldDyson StevensonDana TyrellRyan Van Stralen

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2017-18.

Season tickets for the 2018-19 campaign are on sale now. Get your seats for just $15 per month. All it takes is a $1 down per seat to reserve yours today. To learn more, click here or contact a Thunder representative at the office today!

Name your price for season tickets or suites during the month of June. Click here to submit your entry on what you would pay for season tickets and a Thunder representative will get you taken care of!

Follow along with us on our social media platforms on Facebook, Twitter (@wichita_thunder), Snapchat (wichthunder), Instagram (Wichita_Thunder) and LinkedIn.