1. Home
  2. News
  3. Thunder Announces Protected List

Thunder Announces Protected List

Monday, February 1st
Thunder Announces Protected List

Wichita, KS (June 1st) - The Wichita Thunder, ECHL affiliate of the Ottawa Senators and powered by Toyota, announced today their protected list of players as submitted to the ECHL following the 2016-17 season.

23 players are included on the protected list, which includes 14 forwards, seven defensemen and two goalies.

Forwards: Brad Cuzner, Zach O'Brien, David Friedmann, Ryan Tesink, Blake Tatchell, Maxime St-Cyr, Gerrad Grant, Darryl Lloyd, Louick Marcotte, Matt DeBlouw, Ian Lowe, Vincent Arseneau, Jack Rodewald, and Alexis Loiseau

Defensemen: Jake Bolton, Jamie Doornbosch, Randy Cure, Jeremy Beaudry, Brandon Carlson, Alexis Vanier, and James Melindy

Goalies: Drew Owsley and David Shantz

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players' Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2016-17 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2016-17, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2016-17 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13th and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15th.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2016-17.

The 26th season of Thunder hockey kicks off on Friday, October 13th against the Indy Fuel.

Season ticket packages are on sale now. Get your seats for just $15 per month. All it takes is a $50 deposit per seat to reserve yours today. To learn more, click here or contact a Thunder representative at the office today!

Follow along with us on our social media platforms on Facebook, Twitter (@wichita_thunder), Snapchat (wichthunder), Instagram (Wichita_Thunder) and LinkedIn, presented by Wichita Brewing Company.