1. Home
  2. News
  3. Thunder Adds Former Junior Scoring Champ

Thunder Adds Former Junior Scoring Champ

Monday, February 1st
Thunder Adds Former Junior Scoring Champ

Wichita, KS (March 17th) - The Wichita Thunder, ECHL affiliate of the Ottawa Senators and powered by Toyota, announced today the signing of forward Ben Duffy to a standard player contract. Duffy, 25, returns to the professional ranks for the first time in four years after heading to Saint Mary's University. A native of Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, the 5-foot-11, 185-pound forward notched 74 points (36g, 38a) in 70 career games with the Huskies. Duffy played 15 games with the American Hockey League's Hamilton Bulldogs before being sent to the ECHL's Wheeling Nailers.

Prior to turning pro, Duffy topped the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League in points (110) and assists (71) in 2012-13. He racked up 341 points (139g, 202a) in 334 games with the Prince Edward Island Rocket, which are still career team records. He won the Jean Beliveau Trophy that season, which was awarded to the player in the QMJHL with the most points.

Duffy reunites with Gerrad Grant and Jamie Doornbosch, who all played at Saint Mary's University. He was also teammates with Louick Marcotte for parts of three seasons with Prince Edward Island.

In separate transactions, Alexis Vanier has been placed in 21-Day IR. Maxime St. Cyr has been put on reserve. Forward Zach O'Brien has been activated from reserve.

The Thunder finishes their five-game road trip with a pair of games in Allen starting Friday at 7:05 p.m.

Individual tickets for all Thunder home games are now on sale. Tickets can be purchased at the INTRUST Arena Box office, by calling 855-755-SEAT or go online at www.selectaseat.com.

Contact a Thunder representative at the office today to learn more about our great season, group and other ticket package opportunities!

Follow along with us on our social media platforms on Facebook, Twitter (@wichita_thunder), Snapchat (wichthunder), Instagram (Wichita_Thunder) and LinkedIn, presented by Wichita Brewing Company.